How I am here today

Growing up in the 1990’s was truly an experience. Whether it be the television shows on Nickelodeon, the boy band craze or Y2K, there was always something going on (but we didn’t have social media to express how we felt). 

However, I feel that growing up in the 1990’s a competitive time. I felt pressured in classrooms to be better than the person next to me, be better at sports, have the most friends, etc. 

I didn’t become competitive until I got to college, but looking back it made me who I am today. I am always trying to work harder than the person next to me and leave a bigger mark on the world than anyone else. 

This shows in my work with the Leukemia Lymphoma Society. My father unfortunately passed away in December 2012 of Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma after battling for three years. Throughout that time, I encouraged my family to raise as much money possible to help LLS and others like my father. Even though I am not raising money for his survival, I am motivated to raise money for LLS in his memory.

 

 

Image

Leave a Reply

